Author's Echo

Author’s Echo – Jane Austen

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a girl named Angela found her favorite author at the age of seven-and-ten after watching a movie that bored her. (Sorry guys. I can’t help it)

Hello there guys! Welcome to this week’s Author’s Echo – where I share to you some of the quotes I liked from a particular author. This week I decided to share to you the quotes that I love from Jane Austen. I don’t want this to be a long post, so I decided to share just five. Which is hard in my case. Hope you’ll like it!

“It isn’t what we say or think that defines us, but what we do.” – Sense and Sensibility

“Her thoughts and reflections were habitually her best companions.” – Mansfield Park

“You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope . . . I have loved none but you.” – Persuasion

” I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.” – Pride and Prejudice

“Silly things do cease to be silly if they are done by sensible people in an impudent way.”– Emma

Jane Austen (1775-1817) is often regarded as the greatest of English women novelists on the strength of her six completed novels. Noted particularly for their sparkling social comedy and accurate vision of human relationships, they are still as widely read today as they have ever been. (Penguin Classics)

Well,there you go guys! Short and simple! Do you like Jane Austen? What is your opinion in regards to her style of writing? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and as always,I’ll talk to you on my next blog.

Twitter- @iangelaperez

Instagram- @thecatwithabook

Goodreads- goodreads.com/thecatwithabook

21 thoughts on “Author’s Echo – Jane Austen

  1. Huge fan, her commentary on society is so acute and still remains relevant today. Although, I have to say I didn’t enjoy her style of writing in Pride and Prejudice which was a little too complicated but I watched the film and loved it. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I love Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice was one of the first classic books I read. I need to reread them again soon as I only tend to reread the same ones. Have you read Lady Susan? It was unfinished I think, it’s been on my Kindle for ages. I have all Austen in paperback but there’s some gorgeous Penguin editions out there.
    The only one I didn’t really enjoy was Mansfield Park because they spent too long acting and it just became boring for me. Tempted to give it another go one day though.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I love her too! The first book I read by her was Persuasion. So far I’ve read four of her books, and I am currently reading Northanger Abbey on my idle time. I haven’t read Lady Susan, I think I’ll add that for my next book hunt. 🤔 All of my Jane Austen books where the cheap Collins paperback. I love those special editions, but I don’t have any decent shelf to put them.😭 I also felt the same way with Sense and Sensibility. It took me a couple of months before I finished reading it, and now I totally forgot what the book is about.😮 I might do some rereads too.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I keep meaning to do a reread and blog post series. Maybe next yr when I’ve widdled down my tbr. I have cheap preloved paperbacks buy I love them. I don’t have shelf space at the moment either my books are taking over. Looking for a bigger house lol but will always keep my old copies

        Like

      2. Hahaha I am planning to have a bigger house too, or at least a place where I will have space for more books.😄

        I also like preloved books too,but I think there are a lot of bookworms in our area because the good ones are snatched quickly!

        Like

  3. Oh, hehehe!! My husband watched that and loved it. 😉 My favorite adaptation of Pride and Prejudice is the 1990s version with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle. It’s very long because it was a mini-series but so good! Love it!! My favorite book is Persuasion and the movie based on that I’d recommend is the version with Amanda Root as Anne Elliot. It’s very good at bringing out Captain Wentworth’s love letter at the very end. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.